Author Topic: Dimensions anomaly  (Read 310 times)

concretesalad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Dimensions anomaly
« on: January 12, 2019, 10:36:07 PM »
Hey all...

So I have my image and the output size is set to 115mm(4.5"). When the gcode is sent to the laser though, 4.5 inches becomes roughly 355mm(14").

Any thoughts?

Thank you in advance.

The Gcode looks fine:
***(Partial paste)***
( Generated by T2Laser )
( Image2Gcode for Grbl )
( Start Point: LL      )
( Frame Mode : Abs.    )
( X Maximum  : 115     )
( Y Maximum  : 47.9    )
( Laser Max  : 200     )
( Feed Rate  : 1250    )
( Resolution : 0.08    )

Here's my config...
Grbl 1.1f Ready
$0=10 Step pulse, microseconds (10)
$1=25 Step idle delay, milliseconds (25)
$2=0 Step port invert, mask (0)
$3=0 Direction port invert, mask (0)
$4=0 Step enable invert, boolean (0)
$5=0 Limit pins invert, boolean (0)
$6=0 Probe pin invert, boolean (0)
$10=19 Status report, mask (1)
$11=0.010 Junction deviation, mm (0.020)
$12=0.002 Arc tolerance, mm (0.020)
$13=0 Report inches, boolean (0)
$20=0 Soft limits, boolean (0)
$21=0 Hard limits, boolean (0)
$22=0 Homing cycle, boolean (0)
$23=0 Homing dir invert, mask (0)
$24=25.000 Homing feed, mm/min (100.000)
$25=500.000 Homing seek, mm/min (1000.000)
$26=250 Homing debounce, milliseconds (250)
$27=1.000 Homing pull-off, mm (1.000)
$30=1000 Max spindle speed, RPM (255)
$31=0 Min spindle speed, RPM (0)
$32=0 Laser mode, boolean (1)
$100=250.000 X steps/mm (80.000)
$101=250.000 Y steps/mm (80.000)
$102=250.000 Z steps/mm (80.000)
$110=500.000 X Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$111=500.000 Y Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$112=500.000 Z Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$120=10.000 X Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (800.000)
$121=10.000 Y Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (800.000)
$122=10.000 Z Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (5000.000)
$130=200.000 X Max travel, mm (400)
$131=200.000 Y Max travel, mm (300)
$132=200.000 Z Max travel, mm (200)

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6511
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2019, 03:50:51 AM »
It looks like your Grbl parameters are incorrect. That isn't my firmware so you'll need to upload my default parameters or if all that's wrong is the steps per mm you can use the calibrate feature in the settings / advanced menu.

concretesalad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2019, 07:43:56 AM »
Hey Zax...

Thanks is for replying. Iím having an issue with uploading firmware. Avrdude errors.
Iíve tried two Nanos and an Uno across two systems and numerous cables.
Ive tried most everything Iíve found searching the web to no avail.
With your software I am connected at 115200 on com3, avrdude overrides the speed and sets it to 57600.
Not sure if that's the issue, or... what.

I have tens of hours into this so far this week, and yes, I am green, but in the long run, I have learned quite a bit this week! Alas though... Obviously not enough, heh.

Screenshot attached of the avr errors.

That aside, I do have a work around using Arduino IDE to compile and send.

Can I get An uncompiled version of your firmware?

« Last Edit: January 13, 2019, 09:39:53 AM by concretesalad »

concretesalad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2019, 09:39:32 AM »
Ok... Update...
I was able to load your firmware (C:\Users\jp\AppData\Local\Apps\2.0\G1YK7HA2.2P9\70LX00WP.DO6\t2la..tion_0000000000000000_0001.0005_f0116f3a6e08d425\Resources\grbl11f_2_limits.hex) using xloader.

Does this look right?

Connected COM3 115200
Grbl 1.1f ['$' for help]
$$
$$
$0=10 Step pulse, microseconds (10)
$1=25 Step idle delay, milliseconds (25)
$2=0 Step port invert, mask (0)
$3=0 Direction port invert, mask (0)
$4=0 Step enable invert, boolean (0)
$5=0 Limit pins invert, boolean (0)
$6=0 Probe pin invert, boolean (0)
$10=19 Status report, mask (1)
$11=0.010 Junction deviation, mm (0.020)
$12=0.002 Arc tolerance, mm (0.020)
$13=0 Report inches, boolean (0)
$20=0 Soft limits, boolean (0)
$21=0 Hard limits, boolean (0)
$22=0 Homing cycle, boolean (0)
$23=0 Homing dir invert, mask (0)
$24=25.000 Homing feed, mm/min (100.000)
$25=500.000 Homing seek, mm/min (1000.000)
$26=250 Homing debounce, milliseconds (250)
$27=1.000 Homing pull-off, mm (1.000)
$30=1000 Max spindle speed, RPM (255)
$31=0 Min spindle speed, RPM (0)
$32=0 Laser mode, boolean (1)
$100=80.000 X steps/mm (80.000)
$101=80.000 Y steps/mm (80.000)
$102=80.000 Z steps/mm (80.000)
$110=500.000 X Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$111=500.000 Y Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$112=500.000 Z Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$120=10.000 X Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (800.000)
$121=10.000 Y Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (800.000)
$122=10.000 Z Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (5000.000)
$130=200.000 X Max travel, mm (400)
$131=200.000 Y Max travel, mm (300)
$132=200.000 Z Max travel, mm (200)


Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6511
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2019, 11:31:57 AM »
Yes.

If sizes aren't correct now just use the calibration routine.

Did you choose that firmware because you needed the homing sequence? (just wondering why you didn't load my default firmware)

concretesalad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2019, 11:35:28 AM »
Yep on the homing switches. Keep getting an alarm though. ? Shows xy tripped. The Y tests out fine continuity-wise, but the X gives a quick single beep, which is strange because a closed circuit would be a continuous beeping. Argh


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

concretesalad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2019, 11:36:17 AM »
Calibration worked great. Thanks. Wish I could get the switches working though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6511
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2019, 01:01:24 PM »
Perhaps it's just a bad switch.

You have X wired to D9 and Y to D10, correct?

concretesalad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2019, 01:02:47 PM »
Yes I do and the second wire to the ground on the same side on the nano


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6511
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2019, 04:00:14 PM »
Sounds like a bad switch, you tested continuity on it without any connection to the controller?

concretesalad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2019, 04:05:00 PM »
Yeah.
Multiple times. Iím just gonna have figure it out. Firmware looks right, yes?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6511
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Dimensions anomaly
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2019, 05:40:50 AM »
Yes.