Author Topic: GBR files  (Read 40459 times)

Kunaphil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: GBR files
« Reply #75 on: November 14, 2016, 04:47:34 PM »
You have gone above and beyond!
Just got my home switches installed!👍

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7308
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: GBR files
« Reply #76 on: November 14, 2016, 04:58:20 PM »
Thank you, I decided to keep going so now it supports both old and new formats.

It has some limitations, but can be enhanced over time as I get more and more files with different examples.

Agastar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1878
    • View Profile
Re: GBR files
« Reply #77 on: November 15, 2016, 11:27:00 AM »
I'm going to try and remember to create the gerber files for my laser driver when I get home tonight and post them here for you. These are exported from Kicad and load into OSHPark.com so they should be a good test for the newer format at least.

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7308
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: GBR files
« Reply #78 on: November 15, 2016, 11:37:19 AM »
That would be awesome. I'm sure it needs some tweaks as I only had 1 set of files to test it with.

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: GBR files
« Reply #79 on: November 15, 2016, 03:29:51 PM »
I'll make time to do a couple of tests for you this weekend too (on the newer format), just need to make new laminates with photoresist on them. I'll get in touch so you can dictate settings as you please.

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7308
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: GBR files
« Reply #80 on: November 15, 2016, 03:53:09 PM »
The old format should be pretty robust, the newer one has more detail and complexity so with only 1 test file it probably has some "unexpected" features. So your assistance would be appreciated.

Kunaphil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: GBR files
« Reply #81 on: November 15, 2016, 04:54:05 PM »
I'll be here  also. 

this is  great!

Phil
Just got my home switches installed!👍

Agastar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1878
    • View Profile
Re: GBR files
« Reply #82 on: November 15, 2016, 05:20:14 PM »
Here you go. I included the drill file too which is also in gerber format

There are some examples that come with Kicad and I'll try to get you those converted to gerber too.


beikeland

  • Guest
Re: GBR files
« Reply #83 on: November 15, 2016, 06:03:57 PM »
I downloaded this as it had both a side with a massive copper fill, and a side with just a few traces.
http://downloads.sourceforge.net/reprap/reprap-opto_endstop-2.1.zip

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: GBR files
« Reply #84 on: November 16, 2016, 04:20:18 AM »
This was exported from KiCad and said "invalid format" when trying to import.

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7308
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: GBR files
« Reply #85 on: November 16, 2016, 06:17:46 AM »
The files that don't load are entirely in negative space, for example:
X189230000Y-111760000D03*

I will change the code to allow this and auto-enable the relocate origin option so the drawing is shifted back to positive space.

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: GBR files
« Reply #86 on: November 16, 2016, 07:39:08 AM »
Oh, yeah I noticed that but I just offset it  -  but did google how to get it into positive space and the tracks are there, but the width of the tracks and all the pads seems to be missing.

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7308
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: GBR files
« Reply #87 on: November 16, 2016, 07:55:01 AM »
That's exactly what I am seeing too, it looks ok but if I shift the origin the traces become thin. Very strange.

Why is is not drawn with an origin? This seems like a CAD issue rather than my import but I can probably fix it.

Agastar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1878
    • View Profile
Re: GBR files
« Reply #88 on: November 16, 2016, 08:17:46 AM »
Kicad does allow you to set the origin point. I'll start setting my origin points in my projects from now on :)

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: GBR files
« Reply #89 on: November 16, 2016, 08:52:37 AM »
Yeah, I did set the origin and re"plotted" them from KiCad with "Use auxillary axis as origin", so I could open it in T2, but still only thin tracks and no pads.  (and no change in grbv, except origin)