Author Topic: Problems with cutting a dxf  (Read 43 times)

Poeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Problems with cutting a dxf
« on: June 25, 2017, 07:06:51 AM »
Hello Laser-Fans,

iīm Oliver from Germany, Cologne. Iīm new in this Forum.
I bought this Laser Engraver at ebay, have it already assembled and now trying out some test cuttings, engravings.
http://www.ebay.de/itm/5500mW-65x50cm-CNC-Laser-Engraving-Woodwork-Cutter-Desktop-Logo-Printer-Machine/222456794359?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D555018%26algo%3DPL.SIM%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D43785%26meid%3D53bb9789e9414cff93899383cfbda389%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D112245632655

Iīm wondering, why my .dxf imports have little steps in benbox view and it seams, that the vectors i make with benbox itself cuts more precisely thand my for example dxf importet circles.
My dxf imported circles have four segments and the one in benbox made has only one. The laser shortly interrups at each segment, the benbox native not.

Another Problem are the long ways the laser drives in complex dxf imports. I havenīt found a way to optimise the drive to next waypoint (if you know, what i mean)...

Are there any experiences or help for me for cutting (first paper and cardboard only).

Best regards,
Oliver
« Last Edit: June 25, 2017, 07:12:19 AM by Poeli »

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4248
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Problems with cutting a dxf
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2017, 07:25:42 AM »
Benbox is old software and unsupported, but more importantly it uses obsolete firmware.

You will get much better results using Grbl 1.1 firmware, it has much improved motion (faster and smoother).

T2Laser has a DXF optimizer built in, and with BCL you can manually sequence the path. Both have free trials to test your machine and see the improvement.

As a free option you may be able to use EleksCAM although your machine is not one of their systems so I am not sure it will work with the mana.hex firmware that is required.

Poeli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with cutting a dxf
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2017, 02:15:55 PM »
Hi Zax,

thank you for your fast anwer and support.

I bought T2 now (youīll know - thank you for the serial ;-) ), because the trial was very interesting and worked fine.

Iīm wondering why my stepper-motors are getting very hot, even when they are not moving.
And i havenīt found out the best way to align the things to scan. I either canīt see intructions how to use the low-power beam to focus/find the start position in T2. In Benbox it was an easy button to push. Donīt find such a function in T2... is there a good workflow for aligning? 

Now i try to learn more and test all settings.
This forum is great,

;-liver

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with cutting a dxf
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2017, 03:05:47 PM »
Check you motor driver current voltage. You might behave then set up to high. I will shoot a link over when I get to a computer.

When in the control screen of T2 set thup left hand number to 5 for pwm laser and around 50 for 2 wire laser. That should get you a nice low power setting. Leave you glasses on until you have it dialed in.
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE
OS: Windows 10 / Mac OSX / Linux Mint / Raspbian
Software: T2L
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4248
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Problems with cutting a dxf
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2017, 04:03:38 PM »
There's sticky here for adjusting the motor current: http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,20.0.html

If you are using my Grbl 1.1e it should disable motors when idle (unless you select Hold Position to keep them on).

To use the low power just do what ThothLoki suggested, set the manual laser power and use the laser on, pulse or off buttons. You can also engrave or trace the outline to see where it's going to plot, and use "View" to see it.