Author Topic: IIIP Maker Select  (Read 1513 times)

Zax

• T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
IIIP Maker Select
« on: November 30, 2016, 03:11:29 PM »
I asked for advice on which printer to buy, for a complete newbie.

Thanks to Pawpawpaw85 and others I decided to purchase the Monoprice Maker Select v2. It's a rebranded Wanhao Duplicator i3 which is itself a Prusa Mendel i3 clone (pretty typical machine).

It came with a customized Cura 15.04, a very good manual and getting started guide, both printed and on an SD-card.

My first impressions were it's a very professional look and feel out of the box, full metal frame and solid drive gear / electronics. Assembly was practically nothing, 4 screws to get the machine together and a couple of motor / limit plugs to connect. It probably took 5 minutes, and then leveling was a breeze and within 30 minutes I was printing one of their sample files.

It adhered to their "special" bed mat (not sure what it's called) perfectly and the print was excellent, I was blown away by the quality considering I had no idea what I was doing.

If anyone wants a cheap and very novice friendly machine then I would also suggest this product. I'm currently printing some "upgrade" parts that were recommended.

kibodwin

• View Profile
Re: IIIP Maker Select
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2016, 07:44:03 AM »
Hi Zax,
I take it this printer is only available in the US?
=)
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleksmaker L5, K40 with Cohesion3D mini board, air assist, laser pointer etc..
Software: T2Laser, laserweb4, Repitier, Cura
Prusa i3 Clone GT2560
Anycubic Kossel Delta ramps

nottingham82

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2016, 08:05:10 AM »
uh oh.  Here come T3 the 3d printer software.  and if T3 comes, so does skynet!
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

Zax

• T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser