Author Topic: adjusting laser power?  (Read 777 times)

tommy gee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
adjusting laser power?
« on: December 01, 2016, 07:31:31 AM »
im guessing the answer is no but is'nt there ANY way to adjust the laser power with benbox software?
i wish i could just weaken the laser a little when doing detailled/small work so it does'nt just burn/carve everything!
cheers :)

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3517
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2016, 10:34:22 AM »
Not easily. The best you can do is increase the speed, but they have the maximum fairly low so you're restricted.

jc2046

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2017, 05:10:03 AM »
Hi, Zax,

I have the same problem. I saw a thread where you say it can be changing some jumper and flashing some other thing, but I canīt find it now.

Do we need to get a new board to accomplish that?. Because at 2.5W it mostly burns everything

Thanks!

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3517
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2017, 05:32:44 AM »
If you use BCL or T2Laser you can, but not with Benbox.

In my signature below, click the "Download" or "Updates" link and you'll see a file called "T2Laser_Conversion4.pdf", you will need to follow that to enable PWM control of the laser. Basically move the jumper and install a newer Grbl.

Here's a direct link:
http://benboxlaser.us/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=41.0;attach=4929
 

CNCit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • CNC it and they will come!
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2017, 02:12:47 PM »
new elekscam cad software allows for laser adjustment. works quite well.
Is this where I put my cool witty signature?
Im not selling anything here!

Tribo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2017, 08:10:15 PM »
new elekscam cad software allows for laser adjustment. works quite well.
I can not run the EleksCam ... only the manual control works
Laser A3 5.5W
Windows 8 64
T2Laser v1.3w
Grbl 1.1e

CNCit

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • CNC it and they will come!
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2017, 06:01:26 PM »
sorry to hear that, maybe i can help?
Is this where I put my cool witty signature?
Im not selling anything here!

Tribo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2017, 07:34:29 PM »
sorry to hear that, maybe i can help?
I do not know what can I do...
I would like to test it
Laser A3 5.5W
Windows 8 64
T2Laser v1.3w
Grbl 1.1e

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2017, 08:24:09 PM »
If you have "standard" gcode such as GRBL you can use a terminal emulator program to enter commands. The commands are all ascii. Using:

  G01 X10 Y20 F300

should move the carriage to location 10,20mm at a speed of 300 mm/min

  M03 S3

Should enable the laser and turn it on with a relatively low power but visible power. The generic command set is available online.

SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3517
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2017, 05:01:44 AM »
It should probably be mentioned that...

M03 S0
M05

will turn the laser off.

Tribo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2017, 03:28:27 PM »
It should probably be mentioned that...

M03 S0
M05

will turn the laser off.
Where can I find information about these codes? so I can interpret the generated codes.
When I make the Trace in T2 for the contour to be cut, , it does not cut, it writes this contour with the same intensity, I want it to engrave the central figure with laser at 40 and the final cut at 255
Laser A3 5.5W
Windows 8 64
T2Laser v1.3w
Grbl 1.1e

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3517
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2017, 04:41:35 PM »
Are you using Sketch Plus?

If so, upgrade to v1.3x and you can set different feed rates for raster and vector which should have the same result. It would actually be faster as you can use full power for the engraving with a much higher feed rate.

It's not a bad idea to have a separate laser power option for vector vs. raster, the same as I have for feed rate so I will add that to my "wish list".

Regarding the manual editing, just search for g-code commands and you'll see several sites. Grbl uses a subset, but most of the common commands are supported. The main ones that aren't are related to canned cycles or sub routines.


Tribo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2017, 03:35:56 AM »
Are you using Sketch Plus?

If so, upgrade to v1.3x and you can set different feed rates for raster and vector which should have the same result. It would actually be faster as you can use full power for the engraving with a much higher feed rate.

It's not a bad idea to have a separate laser power option for vector vs. raster, the same as I have for feed rate so I will add that to my "wish list".

Regarding the manual editing, just search for g-code commands and you'll see several sites. Grbl uses a subset, but most of the common commands are supported. The main ones that aren't are related to canned cycles or sub routines.
Yes, I use Sketch Plus, I did exactly as in the video that you show on youtube.
But I did not understand ... is there a 1.3x version? Mine is v1.3w, where do I find this update?
Laser A3 5.5W
Windows 8 64
T2Laser v1.3w
Grbl 1.1e

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3517
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2017, 05:03:35 AM »
In my signature... the Updates link.

You probably need to uninstall the current version before installing the new one, but it won't affect your license.

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1952
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: adjusting laser power?
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2017, 07:58:01 AM »
>Where can I find information about these codes?

If you have installed BCL (Trial ver is OK) it has a G-code Editor inside it...you can click in the editor area and press F1 and get g-code command help in a popup window. All supported g-codes will be shown.

Also, if you do some test shape testing (don't have to send to the laser if you don't want to) the generated g-code has comments for each line so you know what each g-code command is doing. Pressing Ctrl-i will toggle comments (information) on and off.
Ralph--Admin -- support_BenCutLaser_us
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BenCutLaserSetup1.8.3a.exe.zip
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BCLVirtualLaserMachineSetup1.8.2.exe.zip
BCL Paid license: $39.95
VLM Paid license: $19.95 (stand alone version)
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com