Author Topic: Everything working but laser  (Read 162 times)

kaykaycb

• View Profile
Everything working but laser
« on: December 23, 2016, 01:24:53 PM »
Can anyone help me? I turned my laser on for the first time and started using it using benbox software. Everything was going fine but I decided to adjust the settings bc it was burning too much, paused it, adjusted settings, started it again. It moved to the bottom of the outline then back to the top and everything was moving like it was burning but the laser itself wasn't working. Turned it off and back on and now the laser won't work, lowlight wont even come on but everything else works. I am a total newb and really frustrated at this point. Can it over heat and shut itself off?

Zax

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Everything working but laser
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2016, 02:47:20 PM »
Plug the laser into the 12V/Fan connector and see if it still works.

beikeland

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2016, 04:15:24 AM »
... but everything else works ... Can it over heat and shut itself off?

Does the fan turn when you try to use it?

Yes, it can overheat, but it does not shut off, it just dies. When trying to get banggood to ship me a replacement they at one point mentioned that it should not be used for more than 30 minutes.

Note that the laser module works less than half an hour in one time, and please when it cool down and continue to work.

ROSS

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2016, 06:26:43 AM »
I know that with the  Australian EMBLASER, some  owners have changed their fans to a more powerful type..same dimensions tho...I should think that a fan in the side9s)of an enclosure, blowing over the heatshink would help even more to cool the laser down.
Lasers are wonderful machines..not ONLY  can they cut a finger off BUT  they can also cauterise it at the same time.....

SAFETY -  IS NO ACCIDENT

kaykaycb

• View Profile