Author Topic: QCAD Circle and BCL (RESOLVED)  (Read 321 times)

pedwards2932

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
QCAD Circle and BCL (RESOLVED)
« on: January 10, 2017, 01:04:28 PM »
Not sure if this is a bug or not.  I noticed that the circles I had drawn in Inkscape had an enormous number of lines so when I ran it in the VLM you could really see the cut slow down a lot (VLM is the bomb).  Anyway I opened the DXF in QCAD and redrew the circles directly in QCAD and it made the circles a single line.  When I saved the DXF in QCAD....I used R18.  The circles show as dots in BCL but when you generate the g code the circles show up in the VLM.  This isn't causing me any problems but wasn't sure if you would be interested in this sort of information.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2017, 05:05:02 PM by Administrator »

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2107
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2017, 01:07:15 PM »
Please post your dxf file so I can have a look at it.
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BenCutLaserSetup1.8.4a.exe.zip
BCL Paid license: $39.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

pedwards2932

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (OPEN)
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2017, 01:10:26 PM »
Here is the DXF file.

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2107
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (OPEN)
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2017, 01:34:41 PM »
1. First attachment. The new circles show up fine in my BCL build...you might want to try and change the Line/Arrowhead size up or down and see if that doesn't snap them back to a more correct looking size. Let me know what happens. I'm using build 1.8.0 which will be released soon but it should render ok for you so I don't know why its not.

2. Second attachment. Your dxf file continues to have many of those very small, extra drawing objects. Here's one example I'm showing in the second attachment. Your dxf has 50 drawing objects. After I deleted all the 'extra' ones that should not be there, the count is now 33. I'm attaching -2 of  your dxf file with only the needed drawing objects in it. And BTW I was able to easily fix this while inside BCL.

3. Third attachment is your -2 fixed dxf file. When you load this one, how are those circles?
« Last Edit: January 10, 2017, 01:36:34 PM by Administrator »
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BenCutLaserSetup1.8.4a.exe.zip
BCL Paid license: $39.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

pedwards2932

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (OPEN)
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2017, 02:06:20 PM »
Circles didn't show up no matter which arrow size. 

I have been going thru all the objects and only assigning tools to the ones that either don't show up or are duplicates.  I'd like to know how you are deleting.  It let me delete some of the drawing objects but some it won't let me delete any way that I can see.  Some of the drawing objects don't seem to have anything associated with them. 

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2107
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (OPEN)
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2017, 02:30:28 PM »
Wait until I release 1.8.0 -- I added the Delete key to the toolpath listbox so you can move the up and down arrow keys and watch the canvas objects 'light up' and see which drawing objects highlight or not...for the ones which don't 'light up', press the Delete key (not in your build sorry) and the list will adjust and you can keep going checking for those 'bad' drawing objects...in 1.8.0 you can do this pretty efficiently now...then do a Save As or Save when you're done...all from inside BCL...!!!
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BenCutLaserSetup1.8.4a.exe.zip
BCL Paid license: $39.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2107
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (OPEN)
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2017, 02:34:35 PM »
>I have been going thru all the objects and only assigning tools to the ones that either don't show up or are duplicates.

Yes, that will work but its not fool proof...when I first started working with you on this dxf file problem, I got fooled doing that method...I missed one object...so that's why I added the Delete key to make it easier to remove them.

Now I can go down the toolpath listbox and when I don't see the listbox item I'm on 'light up' the canvas, I know its a very tiny object and isn't needed in this case, so I press the Delete key, the list moves up automatically and I'm ready to look/check/delete as needed.
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BenCutLaserSetup1.8.4a.exe.zip
BCL Paid license: $39.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

pedwards2932

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (PENDING 1.8.0)
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2017, 03:17:28 PM »
Sounds great that will make it much easier.  Since I use Inkscape I am not sure where it is generating the extra drawing objects.  I have a work flow that works......I am learning QCAD as it seems to help clean up things but I will say some things that should be easy are a pain.   The circles that Inkscape made were a mess probably had 100 individual lines when I made them into polylines......I played around with it and found .1 I was using for flattening the bezier was what was causing it.  If I use 5 for the flattening the circle still looks round but with a lot less lines.  Can't wait for 1.8.0.  Hope you don't mind me finding these bugs but I think it will just make your program better.

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2107
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (PENDING 1.8.0)
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2017, 03:20:41 PM »
>Hope you don't mind me finding these bugs but I think it will just make your program better.

I don't mind at all...I want to improve and enhance the workflow as much as I can with BCL.
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BenCutLaserSetup1.8.4a.exe.zip
BCL Paid license: $39.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2107
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (PENDING 1.8.0)
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2017, 05:47:08 PM »
@pedwards2932

UPDATE:
Did you get a chance to download and try out 1.8.0 j?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2017, 08:42:18 AM by Administrator »
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BenCutLaserSetup1.8.4a.exe.zip
BCL Paid license: $39.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

pedwards2932

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (PENDING 1.8.0)
« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2017, 05:33:32 AM »
I have now installed 1.8.0j......this fixed issue with circles.  Thanks
« Last Edit: January 16, 2017, 05:54:23 AM by pedwards2932 »

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2107
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (PENDING 1.8.0)
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2017, 07:47:01 AM »
Do you have any other remaining issues or questions with BCL at this time? We can do a screen share to resolve them.
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
http://www.BenCutLaser.us/BenCutLaserSetup1.8.4a.exe.zip
BCL Paid license: $39.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

pedwards2932

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: QCAD Circle and BCL (PENDING 1.8.0)
« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2017, 08:34:29 AM »
I'm good for now but I am sure I will have questions moving forward.