Author Topic: Wiring home switches  (Read 14240 times)

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #30 on: January 29, 2017, 11:07:53 AM »
When you say it moves positive, do you mean to the right?

It should initially move left towards 0, then when the switch activates it will pull off a small amount and stop. Then it will repeat the process on the Y-axis, moving forwards towards 0.

It is probably alarming as it doesn't pull off as expected.

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1643
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #31 on: January 29, 2017, 11:18:18 AM »
yes i mean it moves positive which is not what i expected.  It moves positive until i push the switch then it alarms.  I pushed the job buttons to make sure i had x right and it jogged the right way.  I yanked the shield and wires off so i could get some actual work done.  I will try again a little later.  But as far as you can tell it shouldnt have done that?
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #32 on: January 29, 2017, 11:21:45 AM »
It sounds like D9 may be grounded and it's moving the wrong way to try and release the switch but after a small distance fails.

If as it's moving you press the switch does it stop moving?


nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1643
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #33 on: January 29, 2017, 11:25:54 AM »
Yes it doesn't alarm until I press the switch. It just moves positive. 

Pressed home, do you want to home, yes, I let it move a bit in the positive x, pressed the switch, x motion stops, alarm
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #34 on: January 29, 2017, 02:24:10 PM »
Check your $23 value, it is usually 3 so that the axis home to lower left (default for Grbl is upper right like limit switches).

If you have reversed any axis, perhaps you need to change the value. I haven't come across that before.

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #35 on: February 02, 2017, 10:36:19 PM »
so haveing read through all this post i am still confused as to how to install my switches

i have interpreted all this as i solder one wire from each switch the red one :) to D9 and the ground from each to ground ?

having already blown one Nano which i still dont know how i did it i am asking for someone to help a non electrical person to install my switches without blowing another nanao and help would be appreciated

wild.bill

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Hey Laser Lips, Your mother was a snowblower
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #36 on: February 02, 2017, 11:29:55 PM »
so haveing read through all this post i am still confused as to how to install my switches

i have interpreted all this as i solder one wire from each switch the red one :) to D9 and the ground from each to ground ?

having already blown one Nano which i still dont know how i did it i am asking for someone to help a non electrical person to install my switches without blowing another nanao and help would be appreciated

I have all the parts sitting in front of me and I am using the same switches you asked about a little while back. They come with a cable that has red, black, green wires. The way to wire it is both of the black wires go to ground, both green wires go to D9, and the red wire is not
needed, but if you do connect it to 5V it will make the LED on the switch work.

A little while back I said that I was building a new A3 design cutter / CNC and today I wired it all up. I ended up using the CNC Shield board (with UNO). I did find an issue with this board - its still the old design but all the signals come out to headers so you have to swap Z-min and Servo Enable. But with this board I have not needed to do any soldering, I just plugged the connector for the home switch to the board. I am still waiting for my Z axes so I set it up today with X and Y homing on separate pins and tested it all.

There is a way in GRBL to see the state of your home switches. Without the details now set $10=19 (default is 3), reset the controller to restart the software and then if you send a $? command you get status back which will show if any home pins are triggered. NOTE: it looks like T2 block's the status output from displaying so I had to use GRBL Controller for this. With this I was able to confirm that I had all 3 axis wired properly.

I will take some pictures of the machine and wiring soon - I have had the FLU all week so I am moving real slow.
Laser: was an A3 2.0w TTL L6 Z axis now 2'x3'
          OpenBuilds ACRO 510 w/ 2.0W TTL laser Cohesion Mini Z axis Homing switches
          K40 Cohesion Mini 60W LightObject LPS
          80W Red-Black 500x700

cool is simply a subjective state of mind

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #37 on: February 03, 2017, 12:08:27 AM »
I have all the parts sitting in front of me and I am using the same switches you asked about a little while back. They come with a cable that has red, black, green wires. The way to wire it is both of the black wires go to ground, both green wires go to D9, and the red wire is not
needed, but if you do connect it to 5V it will make the LED on the switch work.

A little while back I said that I was building a new A3 design cutter / CNC and today I wired it all up. I ended up using the CNC Shield board (with UNO). I did find an issue with this board - its still the old design but all the signals come out to headers so you have to swap Z-min and Servo Enable. But with this board I have not needed to do any soldering, I just plugged the connector for the home switch to the board. I am still waiting for my Z axes so I set it up today with X and Y homing on separate pins and tested it all.

There is a way in GRBL to see the state of your home switches. Without the details now set $10=19 (default is 3), reset the controller to restart the software and then if you send a $? command you get status back which will show if any home pins are triggered. NOTE: it looks like T2 block's the status output from displaying so I had to use GRBL Controller for this. With this I was able to confirm that I had all 3 axis wired properly.

I will take some pictures of the machine and wiring soon - I have had the FLU all week so I am moving real slow.

thank you sir you are a gentleman

Lob0426

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1624
  • Let the Magic Blue Smoke out!
    • View Profile
    • Richards RasPi Web Server
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #38 on: February 03, 2017, 12:32:18 AM »
Here is a picture of the back of my board. My soldering is sloppy!
Richard
A5 2.5W w/homing switches on L7
A5 2W diode self upgraded from stock 500mw
Printrbot Play. Ext bed, integrated tablet control.
Printrbot Simple Metal
USA

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #39 on: February 04, 2017, 10:29:14 PM »
Check your $23 value, it is usually 3 so that the axis home to lower left (default for Grbl is upper right like limit switches).

If you have reversed any axis, perhaps you need to change the value. I haven't come across that before.

@zax can you help me setup homing in T2 i have done the switches and the unit still works but i can work out yay but i can work out how to do what is needed in T2 i turn it on and it says have you set G26 and G23 i think ????? help :)

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #40 on: February 05, 2017, 02:11:20 AM »
further to this the switches do not seem to be doing anything

i have put the multimeter on the switches while plugged in and powered with the switch in the open position (not depressed i get no tone if i press the switch i then get tone

if i move the unit out onto the work area and hit home it moves the x towards my zero point but if i depress either switch it just keeps going and crashes into the gantry

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #41 on: February 05, 2017, 03:52:54 AM »
So you are using Grbl 1.1e and have wired the 2 N.O. switches in parallel to the D9 pin, enabled homing in T2Laser and you get the "red house".

Clicking the "red house" the machine moves to the left but triggering the switch doesn't stop it? Is that correct?

It sounds like you have something wrong with the wiring, double check your switches are connecting GND to D9 when pushed.


robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #42 on: February 05, 2017, 04:12:20 AM »
So you are using Grbl 1.1e and have wired the 2 N.O. switches in parallel to the D9 pin, enabled homing in T2Laser and you get the "red house".

Clicking the "red house" the machine moves to the left but triggering the switch doesn't stop it? Is that correct?

It sounds like you have something wrong with the wiring, double check your switches are connecting GND to D9 when pushed.

Pretty sure they are

this is a dump of grbl if it helps

Connected
Grbl 1.1e Ready
$0=10 Step pulse, microseconds (10)
$1=25 Step idle delay, milliseconds (25)
$2=0 Step port invert, mask (0)
$3=2 Direction port invert, mask (0)
$4=0 Step enable invert, boolean (0)
$5=0 Limit pins invert, boolean (0)
$6=0 Probe pin invert, boolean (0)
$10=19 Status report, mask (1)
$11=0.020 Junction deviation, mm (0.020)
$12=0.020 Arc tolerance, mm (0.020)
$13=0 Report inches, boolean (0)
$20=0 Soft limits, boolean (0)
$21=0 Hard limits, boolean (0)
$22=1 Homing cycle, boolean (0)
$23=3 Homing dir invert, mask (0)
$24=100.000 Homing feed, mm/min (100.000)
$25=1000.000 Homing seek, mm/min (1000.000)
$26=250 Homing debounce, milliseconds (250)
$27=1.000 Homing pull-off, mm (1.000)
$30=255 Max spindle speed, RPM (255)
$31=0 Min spindle speed, RPM (0)
$32=1 Laser mode, boolean (1)
$100=80.000 X steps/mm (80.000)
$101=80.000 Y steps/mm (80.000)
$102=80.000 Z steps/mm (80.000)
$110=5000.000 X Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$111=5000.000 Y Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$112=5000.000 Z Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$120=800.000 X Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (800.000)
$121=800.000 Y Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (800.000)
$122=5000.000 Z Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (5000.000)
$130=400.000 X Max travel, mm (400)
$131=300.000 Y Max travel, mm (300)
$132=200.000 Z Max travel, mm (200)

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #43 on: February 05, 2017, 04:25:36 AM »
some photos if it helps

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5874
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #44 on: February 05, 2017, 04:35:35 AM »
I think you are on the wrong side of the Nano.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2017, 04:37:47 AM by Zax »