Author Topic: Wiring home switches  (Read 31727 times)

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #45 on: February 05, 2017, 04:38:44 AM »
I think you are on the wrong side of the Nano.

crap i think you are right  ;D

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #46 on: February 05, 2017, 05:04:36 AM »
I think you are on the wrong side of the Nano.
@Zax

you are worth more money  :D

looks like it is working now

now just got to work out how and were to put the switches

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7276
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #47 on: February 05, 2017, 05:10:28 AM »
 ;)

I hope the next gen of lasers come with limit switches, it wouldn't cost them much to add.

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #48 on: February 05, 2017, 06:02:39 AM »
does anyone have any suggestion for how or where to mount the switches got them taped on for now but realy want something more secure and permanent ?

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3224
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #49 on: February 05, 2017, 07:34:16 AM »
I used the smaller (don't know proper name) auto locking t-nuts. Used the laser to cut an insulating pad from PVC shelf liner. The 2 holes align with the slots in the 8020 rail.
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

robertch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #50 on: February 05, 2017, 07:04:07 PM »
I used the smaller (don't know proper name) auto locking t-nuts. Used the laser to cut an insulating pad from PVC shelf liner. The 2 holes align with the slots in the 8020 rail.

thank you kind sir will see what i have to cut up tonight and give it a try

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1772
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #51 on: February 05, 2017, 07:43:30 PM »
ok i got mine mock wired with the limit switches attached and i have the wrong wire connectors so im just wrapping the bare wire around the terminals till i get this figured out. 

So here is my problem.  It homes +x then +y.  I then reversed the x and y axis and it homes -x and -y or toward 0,0 like its supposed to.  But then my axis are backward when it is done homing.  I have tried resetting parameters, reloading the firmware.  I have my laser set up right.  the board is in the back 0,0 is in the lower left.  any thoughts?
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

Lob0426

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1628
  • Let the Magic Blue Smoke out!
    • View Profile
    • Richards RasPi Web Server
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #52 on: February 05, 2017, 07:57:48 PM »
There are two direction settings that affect axis movement.

$3 (direction port invert) and $23 (homing direction invert)

Did you reverse the axis by moving wires or by changing settings!

Use $3 to change the axis direction to move to bottom left with the control board away from you.
Example $3=3

Use the home direction settings $23 to make the axis move towards the switches.
Example $23=3

There is a chart in the settings for the correct number versus the axis changes.
https://github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki/Grbl-v1.1-Configuration
Richard
A5 2.5W w/homing switches on L7
A5 2W diode self upgraded from stock 500mw
Printrbot Play. Ext bed, integrated tablet control.
Printrbot Simple Metal
USA

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1772
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #53 on: February 05, 2017, 08:26:31 PM »
did not change wires nor settings.  my settings are stock 1.1e


$3=2 Direction port invert, mask (0)
$23=0 Homing dir invert, mask (0)

from what you are saying it sounds like $23 should be 3?  how do I change this in t2? I can see what the grbl says but I havent ever tried to change it.
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1772
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #54 on: February 05, 2017, 08:47:53 PM »
also i figured out why it alarmed.  I was holding the switch in my hand and i didnt realize it finds the switch lets go then presses and lets go one more time.  If you just click it once it freaks out cuz it is trying to push the button another time and it should only be a step away. If you click the button twice it thinks everythings good and goes to the next axis.

edit: here is a picture of my no solder solution
« Last Edit: February 05, 2017, 08:53:53 PM by nottingham82 »
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2187
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #55 on: February 05, 2017, 09:04:25 PM »
Wow Nottingham. Looks like that shield is working out well. Why the jumpers instead of long female leads?
Laser: A3 2500mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1772
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #56 on: February 05, 2017, 09:07:54 PM »
I could do long female to male leads.  Actually I have them as they came with the jumper leads.  The original plan was to mount the shield to the acrylic but the wires are not very agile nor bendy.  So it just kinda hovers there behind the board and im afraid to force it into another position and break a jumper lead tip. 
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2187
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #57 on: February 05, 2017, 09:10:41 PM »
Still looks good! Think I am going to have to make one of these so I can put homing switches onto my machine
Laser: A3 2500mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1772
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #58 on: February 07, 2017, 08:48:57 PM »
ok so i got the homing switches wired and it homes just fine but homing is backward from jog movements.  IE it thing its moving toward 0,0 and its actually moving the opposite direction.  So to fix this i can reverse the x and y axis but then after i home if i go to jog it jogs the wrong way.  So if I go +X it moves in the -X direction exactly opposite of the homing direction.  So per gallant I need to reverse my homing $23 but I dont actually know how to do that.  Any advice? 
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

wild.bill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 521
  • Hey Laser Lips, Your mother was a snowblower
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #59 on: February 07, 2017, 09:02:26 PM »
ok so i got the homing switches wired and it homes just fine but homing is backward from jog movements.  IE it thing its moving toward 0,0 and its actually moving the opposite direction.  So to fix this i can reverse the x and y axis but then after i home if i go to jog it jogs the wrong way.  So if I go +X it moves in the -X direction exactly opposite of the homing direction.  So per gallant I need to reverse my homing $23 but I dont actually know how to do that.  Any advice?
Did you build your own GRBL software or use something already built? I did my switches the other day and found the same thing, then in the GRBL code I found a line to uncomment that makes the switch positions the machine origin. After that the left front is 0,0 which is where the switches are.
Laser: was an A3 2.0w TTL L6/GRBL Z axis now 2'x3'
          OpenBuilds ACRO 510 w/ 2.0W TTL laser Cohesion Mini/Smoothie Z axis Homing switches
          K40 Cohesion Mini 60W LightObject LPS
          80W CO2 Red-Black 500x700

cool is simply a subjective state of mind