Author Topic: "A Motor" Port Slaving?  (Read 2780 times)

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2833
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
"A Motor" Port Slaving?
« on: April 10, 2017, 10:16:31 AM »
On the 'EleksMaker IV Axis' controller board, does anyone know how to slave a Z stepper motor plugged into the 'A Motor' port, with the primary Z axis stepper motor plugged into the normal 'Z Motor' port?

I want to run and control two Z axis stepper motors.

Is this done with a jumper on the board?
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 10:36:47 AM by Administrator »
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qv1qee2vb65785t/SetupBenCutLaser3.2a.zip?dl=0
BCL Paid license: $49.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6805
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2017, 10:57:12 AM »
I don't know if there's any switches on the board to do that, but you can jumper the Z-step and Z-direction pins to the A inputs.

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2161
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2017, 11:55:37 AM »
I think something like this should work with physical jumpers like what Zax said.

Please excuse the crude drawing
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6805
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2017, 12:14:15 PM »
If you need one Z-axis to go in the opposite direction you can swap any of the coil pairs, same as Eleks do for the Y-motors.

wild.bill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 507
  • Hey Laser Lips, Your mother was a snowblower
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2017, 02:51:38 PM »

I went and looked at the EleksMaker web sit and the picture you show do not match what they show for the 'EleksMaker IV Axis' board, in fact there is different name on the board in the pictures. I did find that at Banggood they had a mix of the pictures -- not a surprise.

The other thing that I noticed on the EleksMaker site was the comment that the board would only work with the CNCUSB software. The fact that I don't see any jumper for the 'A' port and this comment I suspect that its hard wired to different pins.

My view is I would someone else determine how compatible this board is.

Laser: was an A3 2.0w TTL L6 Z axis now 2'x3'
          OpenBuilds ACRO 510 w/ 2.0W TTL laser Cohesion Mini Z axis Homing switches
          K40 Cohesion Mini 60W LightObject LPS
          80W Red-Black 500x700

cool is simply a subjective state of mind

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2833
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2017, 03:15:27 PM »
If you need one Z-axis to go in the opposite direction you can swap any of the coil pairs, same as Eleks do for the Y-motors.

Both Z stepper motors move in the same direction...
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qv1qee2vb65785t/SetupBenCutLaser3.2a.zip?dl=0
BCL Paid license: $49.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2833
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2017, 03:18:39 PM »
>The fact that I don't see any jumper for the 'A' port and this comment I suspect that its hard wired to different pins.

That would be bad news. I'm willing to buy one just to see if I can get it to work.

I asked one of the vendors selling these boards about that A Motor plug and they said they can't tell me anything about it.

Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qv1qee2vb65785t/SetupBenCutLaser3.2a.zip?dl=0
BCL Paid license: $49.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

treinbert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Just into laser cutting & 3D-printing
    • View Profile
    • Spoor 1 Hobby
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2017, 05:13:51 PM »
Hi Ralph,

Why not putting the second motor parallel to the first motor on the same output as is done with the Y-axis?
Hartelijke groeten/Best regards/Freundlichen Gruessen,
Bert Mengerink

Prusa I3 clone
Renkforce RF100,
500mW, 2500mW and 3500mW laser
Benbox A3 to be used with above lasers
Own build A0 with Z-axis with the same lasers
Proxon converted CNC cutter
Various Raspberry PI's (2 & 3)
Windows 10
MAC OSX

laser_cutter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2017, 06:51:51 PM »
Couldnt this be done in grbl; assign the pins signals

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2833
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2017, 09:22:00 PM »
Hi Ralph,

Why not putting the second motor parallel to the first motor on the same output as is done with the Y-axis?

I'm not sure I understand what you mean Bert. The Y axis motors each have their own cables and plugs. There are always two Y ports on any of our controller boards. But few boards have 2 Z axis ports.
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qv1qee2vb65785t/SetupBenCutLaser3.2a.zip?dl=0
BCL Paid license: $49.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2833
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2017, 09:29:53 PM »
Couldnt this be done in grbl; assign the pins signals

I don't know. I thought a jumper on the board might solve it but it's looking like that doesn't work that way (no jumper pin to slave the A Motor port to the Z port). So maybe it is a pin assignment in Grbl. I'm using Grbl 1.1e and I have the source so I can edit a pin assignment and then compile a new, custom .hex file. Maybe someone smarter than me knows the answer to your question!
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qv1qee2vb65785t/SetupBenCutLaser3.2a.zip?dl=0
BCL Paid license: $49.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

treinbert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Just into laser cutting & 3D-printing
    • View Profile
    • Spoor 1 Hobby
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2017, 02:05:33 AM »
Hi Ralph,

When you would take the board apart, the two Y-ports are just connected in parallel, so each pin of Y1-port is connected with the same pin of the Y2-port.
The Y-ports just use the same driver. This can also be done with the Z-axis.
Hartelijke groeten/Best regards/Freundlichen Gruessen,
Bert Mengerink

Prusa I3 clone
Renkforce RF100,
500mW, 2500mW and 3500mW laser
Benbox A3 to be used with above lasers
Own build A0 with Z-axis with the same lasers
Proxon converted CNC cutter
Various Raspberry PI's (2 & 3)
Windows 10
MAC OSX

wild.bill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 507
  • Hey Laser Lips, Your mother was a snowblower
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2017, 04:49:57 AM »
I'm not sure I understand what you mean Bert. The Y axis motors each have their own cables and plugs. There are always two Y ports on any of our controller boards. But few boards have 2 Z axis ports.

The boards have plug's and cables for each motor, but the 2 Y axis connectors are connected in parallel in the board so you don't see it unless you start following traces.
Laser: was an A3 2.0w TTL L6 Z axis now 2'x3'
          OpenBuilds ACRO 510 w/ 2.0W TTL laser Cohesion Mini Z axis Homing switches
          K40 Cohesion Mini 60W LightObject LPS
          80W Red-Black 500x700

cool is simply a subjective state of mind

laser_cutter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: "A Motor" Port Slaving?
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2017, 07:28:04 AM »
I don't know. I thought a jumper on the board might solve it but it's looking like that doesn't work that way (no jumper pin to slave the A Motor port to the Z port). So maybe it is a pin assignment in Grbl. I'm using Grbl 1.1e and I have the source so I can edit a pin assignment and then compile a new, custom .hex file. Maybe someone smarter than me knows the answer to your question!

I am thinking Pin assignment in grbl would work;
https://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=5837

Also, it would be dirty, but why not remove the A driver and then connect the Z driver to both plugs on the board - would this require cutting traces on the A plug?