Author Topic: starting position  (Read 887 times)

helterskelter

• View Profile
starting position
« on: May 17, 2016, 04:06:53 AM »
Good day people, I am very new to the laser engraver so please bear with me. I assembled it straight out of the box, i have made no mods at all (wouldn't know how to anyway). I am using Grbl 0.8. Initially i couldn't get the program to do anything but now it's ok (for some reason) Anyway my question, when i load an example file to try it out, the picture is displayed on screen, with a green arrow going from bottom left, which i presume is the 0,0 (home) position, to the top left of the image (where it will start?) however everything seems to be flipped. If the laser starts at bottom left, it tries to move left, so to compensate i move the laser to bottom right. then hit begin, the progress shows it working (on the visualisation) from top left, however it is actually burning/engraving the image from top right, working right to left, so the image is mirrored. I'm not sure if i've explained it well enough, but hopefully someone will be able to help.
In summary, it appears that start/home position is bottom right, even though on the screen it is bottom left. Everything seems to be mirrored.
One point that may be relevant. Using the arrows to position the laser, left would send it right and vise versa, so i checked the box to reverse them. would this then cause the problem i am having?
Thank you in advance (sorry it was so long)

ROSS

• View Profile
Re: starting position
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2016, 04:12:30 AM »
Welcome to the confused club.................................
Lasers are wonderful machines..not ONLY  can they cut a finger off BUT  they can also cauterise it at the same time.....

SAFETY -  IS NO ACCIDENT

Nigelnowhere

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2016, 04:53:12 AM »
I believe T2 laser has settings to compensate for this.