Author Topic: Configurable Laser On Command  (Read 682 times)

gibsonk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Configurable Laser On Command
« on: April 21, 2017, 02:28:52 PM »
I am wondering if there is any way to configure the laser on command, I am looking to play around with a RAMPS controller to give me some additional functionality with my Laser (temp monitoring, SD Slot)

I would really like to continue to use T2 but need a way of altering the on off commands, maybe even scale T2 out to 3D printer laser units

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5871
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Configurable Laser On Command
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2017, 05:21:28 PM »
What you need is a custom post processor, that shouldn't be a problem I just need to know what commands to use.

Here's the output using the LaserBot option (M4 and P values for the power):
G21
G90
G0  F500
M4 P0
G1 X0 Y10 F2000
M4 P0
G1 X10 Y10
M4 P255 F500
G1 X10 Y0
M4 P255 F500
G1 X0 Y0
M4 P255 F500
G1 X0 Y10
M4 P255 F500
M4 P0
M4 P0
G0 X0 Y0 F2000

gibsonk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Configurable Laser On Command
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2017, 03:34:35 AM »
What you need is a custom post processor, that shouldn't be a problem I just need to know what commands to use.

Here's the output using the LaserBot option (M4 and P values for the power):
G21
G90
G0  F500
M4 P0
G1 X0 Y10 F2000
M4 P0
G1 X10 Y10
M4 P255 F500
G1 X10 Y0
M4 P255 F500
G1 X0 Y0
M4 P255 F500
G1 X0 Y10
M4 P255 F500
M4 P0
M4 P0
G0 X0 Y0 F2000

Cool,

My new controller will be here today, will take a while to get it setup and configured so I am not sure exactly what commands I will be using just yet.

is the Post Processor something that can be built as a manually configurable element allowing values to be typed in, backed up by known default settings (profiles that can be selected).  this could be written once and allow T2 to scale well to other systems.

Bit like Laserweb




 


Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5871
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Configurable Laser On Command
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2017, 05:22:43 AM »
It probably could, but it's better for me to encode it for different applications so I can ensure compatibility of the code. Laserweb being open source is more for people that want to tweak it on their own and deal with the issues that creates.