Author Topic: Vinyl LP Records  (Read 1395 times)

Poppas Workshop

• View Profile
Vinyl LP Records
« on: July 16, 2017, 04:28:46 PM »
Hi there all. This is my first attempt at using any type of forum, so please forgive me if I make any goofs.
I have recently purchased a 3000mW machine from China, and it comes with the BenBox software.
I would like to use it to make vinyl art, particularly clocks, from my old vinyl LPs.
I have tried various settings in the software, with very mixed results, mostly not great.
If there is anyone out there who has tried this with any success I would very much appreciate hearing about how they got on.
If anyone would like to contact me directly, I can be emailed at: poppasworkshopnz@gmail.com.

Thanks in anticipation.

Steve

Zax

• T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Vinyl LP Records
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2017, 04:35:39 PM »
Welcome Steve!

I take it your trying to cut designs from them?

It will take several passes but should be possible.

Poppas Workshop

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2017, 05:05:19 PM »
Thanks for getting back to me.

That's exactly right.
Question? Can benbox be set to automatically make a pre-set number of passes?
I've found that a speed of 20 and a time of 2500 will just about cut through on one pass, but the results are pretty ugly.
I normally have the Engrave Type to "Scan By Lin", "Continuous" and "Laser".
I'll keep trying some other setting and see if I can come up with a satisfactory result.

Steve

Zax

• T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2017, 05:28:46 PM »
I have no idea about the settings but I don't think Benbox supports multi-pass. It's an obsolete program that uses a very old version of Grbl.

Is it following the path and cutting or scanning back and forth?

If you increase the feed rate and use multiple passes the result should be much better.

Poppas Workshop

• View Profile