Author Topic: My Rotary Axis  (Read 7408 times)

Lob0426

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1624
  • Let the Magic Blue Smoke out!
    • View Profile
    • Richards RasPi Web Server
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2017, 08:17:28 PM »
I am about 95% sure this is incorrect, slic3r has settings for extrusion width for first layer and then other layers. Cura has settings for different sections, infill, skin, support etc.
This affects how soread apart the lines are and obviously, their position.

I guess these slicers do take into account "tool width". They sure don't seem to. But this is caused, after reading some, by shrinkage, over extrusion and path inaccuracies. It also can be caused by software calculation problems! The gist of it is that these slicers are trying to do everything and it is not always possible! So we have to eliminate as many of the problems as we can by properly adjusting the machine settings and then adjusting the files to get as close to what we want as we can!
Richard
A5 2.5W w/homing switches on L7
A5 2W diode self upgraded from stock 500mw
Printrbot Play. Ext bed, integrated tablet control.
Printrbot Simple Metal
USA

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2017, 08:28:40 PM »
agreed.

I talked to a few youtube personalities via twitter before i bought my printer. Mainly @PRESSRESET and @toms3dp

you see in their videos and what they say all the time is that these printers will never be 100% accurate. First, they are retail grade at best and mainly hobby printers.

I have a neighbor who works in the recycling business. One of his customers is Stratasys. I am still trying to get him to take a 3d Printer home from them that they are throwing away. Heck, even if I have to fix it, It would be worth the time and money. I sure can't justify $4k on a 4x4x4 printer
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

Stonemull

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2017, 10:53:59 PM »
They are not as bad accuracy wise as that, have a look at limit switch testing and you will find tests giving 10-15 micron repeatability, (0.015mm) on each axis. That would be a well setup machine obviously but even low cost steppers, reasonable belts and a solid frame will result in far better than 0.05mm resolution reliably.

Stl's are a problem. in that they don't do circles, or squares for that matter, everything is a triangle mesh no matter the shape of the model. So all the holes are polygonal and the number of segments change depending on size (and CAD program settings), this is one area where openscad shines as the $fn variable tells the renderer and stl generator how many segments to generate, I usually design with fn= 12 and then use fn = 100 for small holes, it means a render that was produced in 5 seconds originally may now take 10 minutes, but you only do it for the final output.

Since everything the printer gets is straight lines in 2 axii's linearity should not be an issue either.

By far the largest error is the actual deposition process itself, you are smearing a viscous, sticky liquid ontop of other plastic at fairly high speed, just having the end of the nozzle dirty can affect quality if you want perfection. Then like I said, filament drag, temperatures, speed, fan rates, filament variations, vibration  etc etc etc all have some effect.

A3 Eleksmaker 2500mW
Solidoodle V2 Pro
Wanhao I3+ touch
Hacked Roland DXY-880
CNC3018 engraver
CNC Plasma (work in progress)

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2017, 09:23:18 PM »
So, everything is printed. I assembled it and found that my chuck wobbles a bit. I am assuming that it is because the hole for the shaft is larger than the shaft itself, thus it is not completely centered. I am trying to throw some tape on it to thicken it in that spot.

Do you think an eccentric spacer is a better option?


So, nevermind about that. I decided, "hey, everything else is 3d printed on this sucker, why not the shaft?" I am currently getting my sizing right and printing some tests. A little kragle will keep it in place once I get it from spinning off kilter.

That and the piece of my mount holding the bearing broke, so it is either kragle to the rescue or print another one.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 08:30:42 PM by ThothLoki »
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #19 on: August 18, 2017, 04:19:34 PM »
So, I am still working on a new base for the chuck and have not printed it yet. I decided to use my old one for now.

Here is a video of the rotary axis working:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzE_ZjUoLSc&feature=youtu.be

The video was still processing when I published, so if the video does not show, you may need to wait a bit. YouTube is a little slow pulling from my Google Photos.
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6066
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #20 on: August 18, 2017, 06:00:54 PM »
Still processing... come on YouTube  :P

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #21 on: August 18, 2017, 07:31:45 PM »
I am not home now but will check tomorrow. If it still is not done I will try uploading a different way.
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #22 on: August 18, 2017, 07:35:26 PM »
Ok. Try this thread
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbsM-WMxjaw

Uploading from my phone might work better
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6066
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #23 on: August 19, 2017, 04:50:01 AM »
Wow, that's sweet! Nice job.

Stonemull

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #24 on: August 19, 2017, 07:31:53 AM »
That'll get 'er done.
A3 Eleksmaker 2500mW
Solidoodle V2 Pro
Wanhao I3+ touch
Hacked Roland DXY-880
CNC3018 engraver
CNC Plasma (work in progress)

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #25 on: August 19, 2017, 10:17:18 AM »
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

Stonemull

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #26 on: August 19, 2017, 06:54:46 PM »
Vector mode too, can't do that on mine due to backlash in output gearing, it looks like your settings are incorrect though .. a bit squished on the rotary axis.

A3 Eleksmaker 2500mW
Solidoodle V2 Pro
Wanhao I3+ touch
Hacked Roland DXY-880
CNC3018 engraver
CNC Plasma (work in progress)

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #27 on: August 19, 2017, 07:21:47 PM »
Yeah, I had not fine tuned anything at that time. That was my first few goes just to make sure the thing spun and actually functioned. I need to print out a new base to the chuck is properly supported as I am noticing it is sagging a bit.

I am getting quite a bit of backlash on that "first test" vector engrave. Lots of little squiggly lines
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1689
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #28 on: August 22, 2017, 09:23:58 PM »
helping loki with his project.... its coming along.
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2113
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: My Rotary Axis
« Reply #29 on: August 22, 2017, 10:44:14 PM »
Yup, making me feel very amateurish in the process. Honestly, I did not realize how much I was limiting myself with inkercad. It's great for quick little things, but wow.

I am glad to have a great group here to take my crayon drawing and pull out the oil paints.

Thanks Nottingham
Laser: A5 2000mw with L7 Board / A3 2500mw PWM with Mana SE -- All using T2Laser
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2.1
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297