Author Topic: Mac user  (Read 4836 times)

MassimilianoMarradi

• View Profile
Mac user
« on: February 28, 2016, 10:11:11 AM »
Hi all.

I'm a (proud) Mac user, my house is Windows-free, even if I'm a sysadmin and work a lot with Windows and virtualization.

For this reason I'm using the Benbox software in a Windows virtual machine, but I'm trying to get rid of the VM, and move everything to Mac OSX.

I've a Banggood Laser, and I'm switching the firmware of my Arduino Nano to LX-Nano.328p.20150626, for the BenBox, that is working, to the grbl_v0_8c (testing the grbl_v0_9j_atmega328p_16mhz_115200.hex, but I've the problem that the laser is always on at the boot).

I'm switching between the two firmware because I can use the Benbox with success and satisfaction, the precision and controls are very good, but...
 - Cons:
   - I've to use Windows
   - It's slow
   - I've a problem with the size of the engrave. Even if I can do a 300x400mm, the size of an image loaded is small, and if I try to enlarge inside of the Benbox software, after a size of about 15 cm the program crash. Maybe it's a problem of a VM using 2 cores and 2,5 GB, but that is.

So, I'm trying the GRBL code, but...
 - Cons:
    - Not precise, not even closer to the Benbox
    - The software is not as good for the setup of the engraving, testing, change size, ecc.

So...

Here's the questions:

1 - Any info about a Benbox-like software for Mac?
2 - Anything I can do to resolve the problem of the crash when I resize the image?
3 - A better software for GCode? Something like BenBox or even better, RDWorks Thunder Laser (http://www.thunderlaser.com/down) ?

Attached a couple of test

Zax

• T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Mac user
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2016, 11:02:53 AM »
A few comments:

Your results so far look great.