Author Topic: Adjustable Z axis Module Motor  (Read 129 times)

Merlin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Adjustable Z axis Module Motor
« on: February 05, 2018, 01:11:30 PM »
Not sure where this should be:

Found this while browsing the other day and thought...will ask for advise.

Click Here

Merlin............

Laser: A5 500mw with Mana SE -- using T2Laser

"Try not!Do!
or do not!
There is no Try!"
The Empire Strikes Back
1980

John Henriksen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • RC Model
Re: Adjustable Z axis Module Motor
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2018, 10:59:54 PM »
I have one installet on my A3 laser from banggood, works very well but is heavy, so when I don't use the laser I support the z axes so that it don't twist my x-axes, well I don't know if it will twist the x-axes, just to be sure  :)

John

EleksMaker® EL01-2500 445nm 2500mW Blue Laser

Software T2Laser

Oldiron13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Adjustable Z axis Module Motor
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2018, 01:20:40 PM »
If you don't mind ,what firmware are you using and how did you calibrate the Z distance settings.
When I first hooked mine up it worked fine except if I moved it 100 mm with the jog arrows it only moved 20 mm but the home button worked.
Went into Advanced settings and in Calibrate Distance told it on X,Y & Z under expected and got: 100-100,100-100,100-20. This changed the Z steps to 400.
It then will move 20 if you jog it 20. However now Home doesn't work . It just lets out a high pitch chirp and moves a small fraction of a mm. If I turn off Jog Rapid it only chirps on up,down and home.
I tried both 1.1e (default) and 1.1f (XY switches).If you can help ,fine. Otherwise I will open a new topic.
Thanks,
 HWF

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2668
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Adjustable Z axis Module Motor
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2018, 02:10:15 PM »
Grbl 1.1e will work fine.
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zxuk7fe1y4nkgm4/SetupBenCutLaser3.1f.zip?dl=0
BCL Paid license: $49.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1865
    • View Profile
Re: Adjustable Z axis Module Motor
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2018, 02:16:17 PM »
At 400 steps per mm any speed over approx 3000mm/min will result in stepper pulse widths/frequency that exceed the capability of the motor to respond. Result is often a rather nasty sounding grinding noise. I think you can set the max speed for each axis. You should be able to test this via a generic terminal emulator, writing a short g-code program, of in a grbl controller application.

SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5477
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Adjustable Z axis Module Motor
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2018, 02:33:36 PM »
The easiest way to set everything is right click on the EleksMill option, it sets the correct steps, acceleration and size.

The problem is your acceleration values are too high, so another way to fix this is select Reduced Acceleration from the menu.

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1865
    • View Profile
Re: Adjustable Z axis Module Motor
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2018, 02:40:42 PM »
I don't think it is acceleration. Just the speed. Have the same problem with my glass engraver which is lead screw driven. You will get the same noise if you try to run a 80 pulse/mm system at 15000mm/min.
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

Oldiron13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Adjustable Z axis Module Motor
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2018, 04:42:34 PM »
Well I right clicked on the Elecksmill and the Z-axis worked fine ,but the X and Y were acting odd. I checked the Calibrate Distance and all of the settings were on 400. I changed the X & Y back to 80 and all seem to be working fine.
Thanks for the help.
HWF

ps I just have to rework the air assist and I will post some pictures