Author Topic: T2 Laser help with greyscale  (Read 121 times)

lxpeery

• View Profile
T2 Laser help with greyscale
« on: January 19, 2019, 04:33:44 PM »
Total noob here, so forgive me for asking a dumb question.

I have a cheap Chinese 2.5W laser (eleksmaker). I've been trying to get greyscale figured out running T2 Laser. I can't seem to get more than two or three shades down. On this run of one of the shading wheels I found on this forum, I can see about three different shades. 5%-15% looks about the same, then about 20%-50% is about the same, then from there on up is pretty much one shade. Maybe a little darker at the top. I certainly can't get good distinction between the individual power levels. This was done with the full power range, 700 speed, diagonal printing, and using the greyscale setting with no acceleration. The laser is a PWM module, so I feel like it should be able to get a little better than this.

What settings do I need to start playing with? Only thing I've done much with is changing the speed, but that just seems to make the entire "shade wheel" darker, without improving contrast.

On an unrelated topic, is there a method other than acceleration for reducing the time spent moving over dead space? It feels like most of the time the program is running the laser is off and moving over space where the laser is off. On bigger jobs, that can add up to hours of time where the laser is just moving to the next space where it actually burns something. If I remember right, the stock program that came with the Eleksmaker was a little better about avoiding dead space. For example, the laser would knock out one chunk of the image being burned and then move on to the next. That program was very limited in features and T2 is obviously better, but that was one nice feature.

Thanks for the help!

ggallant571

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: T2 Laser help with greyscale
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2019, 05:36:21 PM »