Kit Assembly > Assembly Help

Eleks Maker Laser / gearbest / How to test the Laser?

(1/2) > >>

bus2000:
Hello,

I'm very new to lasers and stuff, mainly i'm coming from IT and - leather DIY (bought the laser to engrave my "logo" in leather mainly). English is not my native language - so please fogive me when something sounds "wrong" or to harsh. I'm German, we tend to choose "hard" words sometimes.

I tried the search functions, but could not find any topic concerning - most of you guys are far ahead in getting the laser working. I've just assembled the thing.

1. Switched it on (seems to be a Eleks Maker Board L1). red light turns on.
2. switched the "weak light switch" on - fan starts spinning. So far - so good
3. No "weak light". Whatsoever. Nothing.

Tried several times, been looking at the wiring, but nothing.

Now finally the question:

Switching on the board an switching on the weak light should be all that is necessary to test the laser, right? No additional thing to do? Or does it need the firmware to test the weak light? Or maybe something else?

I'm not sure how it's handled with videos in this forum, but you could take a look on this (uploaded to dropbox):

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xkcgk97v0fisuex/AADfuBt3N4c3i3hsD-BfiJY4a?dl=0

What you see is the following

1. switch eleks board on (red light turns on)
2. Showing the fan, it's not moving. No weak light.
3. switching weak light switch on.
4. showing fan: It's spinning. Showing the paper under the laser: No weak light to see.

I would appreciate if someone could verfiy my assumption that the Laser Modul seems to be dead.... or maybe point me to what i'm doing wrong.

Kind regards,
Bernd

Edit: It's a Eleks Maker Board L7, i was reading it wrong, sorry

Zax:
Welcome Bernd.

It looks and sounds like everything is working as it should, the "weak" button on my machine does the same (nothing).

Are you using Benbox or Grbl?

Have you tried running a program or turning the laser on with G-Code?

bus2000: