Author Topic: Introduction and benbox program  (Read 379 times)

PLT

• View Profile
Introduction and benbox program
« on: March 10, 2020, 12:03:32 PM »
Thanks for accepting me. Ive been doing woodburning for many years and now my arthritic hands are getting worse - losing fine motor skills.   So i bought 3000mW Blue CNC Laser Engraving Machine. For a week i had trouble installing software so i called the Universal Engraver ti help me via remote desktop connection which they did.    Ive been practicing for 3 days now and i dislike it. It keeps shutting down and doesn’t remember where i left off.  The size i got was 24” x 26” and the program that came with it only allows me to engrave is “postcard size”. I cannot get any bigger on the program’s window.  Im getting frustrated and am thinking of returning the product and get a simple engraver.

Zax

• T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Introduction and benbox program
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2020, 12:44:02 PM »
What controller / firmware does that machine have?

I've had some Universal Engraver users just install T2Laser and my Grbl 1.1e DEFAULT firmware with success but recently at least one where the firmware wasn't compatible so I would test without changing firmware unless you have a copy of the original to put it back if needed.

ggallant571

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2020, 08:10:17 PM »
I was completely frustrated when I got my first machine. The specs were nothing but lies and the software was worse. Found this site and fell in with a lot of good helpful users experiencing similar problems. That was about 3 years ago. The initial product quality has greatly improved but everything else is the same. The bad news is once you get the hardware/software/firmware straightened out, making more advanced artwork becomes the killer. The good news is the generic machine operation is solvable. These are truly simple machines.