Author Topic: Copying GRBL  (Read 407 times)

Tribo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Copying GRBL
« on: September 25, 2020, 09:47:10 AM »
is there a possibility to save the grbl that is on an arduino so that it can be installed on another?
Laser 5.5W (2 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.2...Grbl 1.1e
Laser 15W (3 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.1...Grbl 1.1e
T2Laser v1.6a
Windows 10 x64

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7267
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2020, 11:45:04 AM »
Yes, the same way you load it (AVRDUDE) you can save it to a file. So after the -U flag you use r (read) instead of w (write) and then tell it the name of the hex to record.

I assume you meant to save the hex as there's no simple way to get back to the actual code, that would require a decompiler which do exist but are messy.

Tribo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2020, 12:10:10 PM »
Thanks for answering.

What happens is that there was 0.9i installed in an Eleksmaker Mana SE, through T2 I installed 1.1e "DEFAUT", and now installing the 0.9i Eleksmana (in Custom Firmware) the laser does not turn on when cutting ... if I put the Nano of the other machine (original 0.9i which already came installed), everything works ok ... I would like to get this grbl to copy back to the other Arduino.
Laser 5.5W (2 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.2...Grbl 1.1e
Laser 15W (3 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.1...Grbl 1.1e
T2Laser v1.6a
Windows 10 x64

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7267
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2020, 01:15:02 PM »
Did you change laser max to 1000 for the Eleks firmware?

Tribo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2020, 03:00:55 PM »
Yes, any way I adjusted it didn't make any difference, the laser was off during cutting ... I uploaded the Eleksmana T2's 0.9i again and now everything is working ok =] I don't know what happened ...

the max laser for the 0.9i is 1000 and for the 1.1e is 255?
Which of the two firmware do you recommend in my case, I have two Eleksmaker Mana SE, one controlling a 15W laser with three pins and the other controlling a 5.5W laser with two pins.
Laser 5.5W (2 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.2...Grbl 1.1e
Laser 15W (3 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.1...Grbl 1.1e
T2Laser v1.6a
Windows 10 x64

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7267
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2020, 04:12:29 PM »
I recommend my Grbl 1.1e DEFAULT, it is much better than the 0.9i and you get more software features.

Yes I use laser max 255 because the D11 PWM output is 8-bit and grey scale images are generally 8-bit so using 8-bit power (0-255) means a direct relationship from input to output which gives the best results. Using 1000 would require scaling the image bits up (and 255 doesn't fit well to 1000 so there's rounding errors) and then Grbl needs to downscale it back to 255 again which adds more errors, in certain cases you can get banding in the output due to these errors.

Tribo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2020, 07:44:27 PM »
Nice. I will use 1.1e which is running very well, 0.9i again gave the same problem.
What is the value for max speed? I didn't notice a difference between 4000 and 5000.
Laser 5.5W (2 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.2...Grbl 1.1e
Laser 15W (3 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.1...Grbl 1.1e
T2Laser v1.6a
Windows 10 x64

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7267
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2020, 04:57:57 AM »
5000 mm/min is the max feed rate in T2Laser defaults but you may not reach it depending on acceleration values and travel distance, you could increase this to 8000 on a well setup machine but I use 5000 as the default value because it's fairly conservative and unlikely to lose steps on most machines.

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3213
    • View Profile
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2020, 10:34:04 AM »
I don't know why I would want to slow down to 8000. Been cutting 6mm stainless steel in single pass at 24000.
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

Tribo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2020, 02:39:00 PM »
5000 mm/min is the max feed rate in T2Laser defaults but you may not reach it depending on acceleration values and travel distance, you could increase this to 8000 on a well setup machine but I use 5000 as the default value because it's fairly conservative and unlikely to lose steps on most machines.
I think the value of the Rapid Feed Rate can be the same as the Feed Rate (Recording) to give continuity to the movement ... or not necessarily?
Laser 5.5W (2 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.2...Grbl 1.1e
Laser 15W (3 pins)...Eleksmaker Mana SE v3.1...Grbl 1.1e
T2Laser v1.6a
Windows 10 x64

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7267
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Copying GRBL
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2020, 04:01:01 AM »
The Grbl parameters $110 to $112 should be set to a safe maximum speed for your machine, so if you can job at 8000 without losing steps then set it to 7500. In T2Laser if you then set rapid feed rate to 8000 it will be capped to 7500 by Grbl.