Author Topic: Laserweb3  (Read 12429 times)

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2016, 03:07:03 PM »
Checked my windows install and it was bigger than what would fit on a Onion Omega so I grabbed a Rpi and installed Laserweb3 on it.

For some reason "Install: Using NPM install to simplify the process" failed, but the vanilla install with git worked just fine. Either there was  a bug on windows or I managed to enter all the settings correctly this time cause it just-works-(tm).  Rather impressed actually. Now when grbl 1.0 has full laser support I'm pretty sure this will be my goto setup for this machine, colour me impressed!

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2016, 03:10:50 PM »
Curious; are you guys using USB to connect the PI and the Grbl, or would it be more stable to throw a level shifter in and conect the two uarts 'directly'? (Directly, but taking care of the 3.3<->5V conversion ofc)

Agastar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1878
    • View Profile
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2016, 04:06:42 PM »
I'm on a windows 7 laptop connecting via USB.

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2284
    • View Profile
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #18 on: October 11, 2016, 04:55:15 PM »
Which OS on the Pi?
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #19 on: October 11, 2016, 05:20:46 PM »
Which OS on the Pi?
I went with minimal Raspbian as I didn't think I'd need X for now. Pretty much followed the instructions. The only gotcha was I had to edit /etc/systemd/system/laserweb3.servic and specify grbl before I added the start up script to systemd; after that it starts on boot. Had one case where my setting dissapeared all of a sudden, but I keept a backup.json file handy so was a quick fix.

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2284
    • View Profile
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #20 on: October 11, 2016, 05:55:11 PM »
I just got more interested. Have a number of idle RPi's sitting idle.
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2016, 03:01:08 AM »
Quote
I was able to get it to work with GRBL 0.9j and 1.0c on my L6 and L7.
Just a note to others reading this; 1.0c (or other 1.0/edge versions) will not work on Arduino Nanos with the old bootloader as the old bootloader takes up 1.5kB and 1.0c needs 31kB of 32kB that is available. A solution is to replace the bootloader with the new Optiboot bootloader that only uses 0.5kB; or if you don't have a ICSP programmer (or spare arduino to use as ICSP) you can always buy a new Nano board and make sure it has the new Optiboot bootloader (or forgo the bootloader all together ofc).

The Nano that was delivered with my L7 board had the old bootloader.

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2284
    • View Profile
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2016, 08:21:49 AM »
How does one know which bootloader is in their chip?
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

Agastar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1878
    • View Profile
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #23 on: October 12, 2016, 08:38:36 AM »
I have the L6 and L7 and both are running 1.0c. The boot loader has not been changed on mine so it would appear that the ones I got from Banggood will work ok.

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #24 on: October 12, 2016, 08:44:49 AM »
How does one know which bootloader is in their chip?
Well, thats a good question, and short of reading it back from flash I'm not sure how you can be sure.

BUT, if the fuses are set correctly, and you use a boards in the Arduino IDE that doesn't set the max size to 30kB, the worst that will happen is an upload that is too big fill fail; and you can safely re-flash the previous version.

So how do you verify the fuses, again, you need to read them using an in circuit programmer, or a spare arduino as an ArduinoISP.

I have the L6 and L7 and both are running 1.0c. The boot loader has not been changed on mine so it would appear that the ones I got from Banggood will work ok.
I just received mine from Bangood, L7 + Arduino Nano, and I needed to replace the bootloader. It could be it was just fused incorrectly, but it was just as easy to write the correct bootloader and fuses in one go, as to check what exactly was wrong.

Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2765
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #25 on: October 12, 2016, 08:48:20 AM »
>and short of reading it back from flash

Reading what back from flashing? Do you mean the welcome msg from Grbl?
Admin -- Ralph -- support @ BenCutLaser dot us
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qv1qee2vb65785t/SetupBenCutLaser3.2a.zip?dl=0
BCL Paid license: $49.95
via Paypal to bclpp@primemail.com

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #26 on: October 12, 2016, 08:50:41 AM »
>and short of reading it back from flash

Reading what back from flashing? Do you mean the welcome msg from Grbl?
Using avrdude to read back the flash from the chip and comparing the content to known binaries or look for known version identifiers in the firmware. The Grbl message does not know anything about the bootloader.

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #27 on: October 14, 2016, 06:50:12 AM »
Grbl 1.1 is in public beta now

https://github.com/grbl/grbl/issues/1107

get code from separate git repo at https://github.com/gnea/grbl.git.

LaserWeb3 will probably need an update to work with this version of Grbl though.

Agastar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1878
    • View Profile
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #28 on: October 14, 2016, 07:30:33 AM »
Grbl 1.1 is in public beta now

https://github.com/grbl/grbl/issues/1107

get code from separate git repo at https://github.com/gnea/grbl.git.

LaserWeb3 will probably need an update to work with this version of Grbl though.

I was able to get 1.1c to work with Laserweb3. I'll check out 1.1 and see if it's any different.

EDIT:
I see they still have this line in the config.h which is what I enabled.
Code: [Select]
// #define USE_CLASSIC_REALTIME_REPORT
 I'll compile with this option turned on and see if it still works. Also, be sure to set $10=3.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2016, 07:42:47 AM by Agastar »

beikeland

  • Guest
Re: Laserweb3
« Reply #29 on: October 14, 2016, 09:35:00 AM »
Code: [Select]
define USE_CLASSIC_REALTIME_REPORT
Seems to do the trick, did you have to change anything else for 1.0c?