Author Topic: Help with toolpaths in BCL (OPEN)  (Read 65 times)

Hippie With A Cowboy Hat

• View Profile
Help with toolpaths in BCL (OPEN)
« on: January 14, 2017, 08:47:08 AM »
Ordered a laser from BangGood, and looking for cutting sortware and see yours is recommended.  have watched all your videos, but have a question.  How do I get the arrows for the toolpaths? (complete novice, but learning)

Have converted a few jpg files to dxf, mostly geometrical patterns.  Dont know how you get the individual toolpaths and arrows though.  want to have an understanding before the laser arrives.

Basically, want to scan a shape and save as a jpg.  Then convert the jpg to dxf, and cut the outline out.

Help and guidance appreciated.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 09:03:53 AM by Administrator »

Administrator

• Administrator
  • Pilot Instructor
    • View Profile
Re: Help with toolpaths in BCL
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2017, 09:03:39 AM »
Welcome to the forum...!!!

>How do I get the arrows for the toolpaths?

I'm not sure I understand your question. Those are created by BenCutLaser (BCL) in the main drawing canvas so you can see which direction a drawing object has. If you are stringing together multiple drawing objects (Lines for example) to be treated as one continuous group, then its important they all have the same direction/orientation.

You can change the direction by pressing the 'R' key or clicking the Reverse link.

Let me know if I'm not understanding your question correctly.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 09:04:41 AM by Administrator »

Zax

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Help with toolpaths in BCL (OPEN)
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2017, 09:15:09 AM »
Scanning and converting to a vector often results in a lot of small line segments, you may be able to reduce these in the CAD software before exporting as DXF. That should speed things up in BCL.

Hippie With A Cowboy Hat

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2017, 11:10:23 AM »