Author Topic: Outline cutting  (Read 2797 times)

Sir-James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Outline cutting
« on: April 24, 2016, 08:21:03 AM »
Hi there,

whats the best way to do outline cutting with T2laser software?

I know that i can generate the outline of a Silhouette with Inscape.
Then i save it as .dxf
I open T2laser and Import .dxf file, but what i can see then are a few triangles, rectangles, but not the outlines
which i could see in inscape.

I tested to cut Stickers, and there outlinecutting would be greate.

Thorsten
« Last Edit: April 24, 2016, 08:38:03 AM by Sir-James »
Hi ive got a A3 5500mW laser from Banggood

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4415
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2016, 08:53:27 AM »
Thorsten,

You need to "explode" groups / blocks to individual elements. This is very common

In Inkscape, use object to path and then extension / modify path / flatten beziers. If you use my Sketch routine you'll see the same flatten effect, basically it's the points on a curve so the finer the detail the better things look (and slower/larger the G-Code becomes).

- Zax

Sir-James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2016, 09:39:22 AM »
Thanx for the Explanation,

but it doesnt work for me.

1. I open Inscape with the Silhouette of the Picture i want the outline.
2. Open Path / Trace Bitmap --> edge detection
3. Object / ungroup
4. Path  / Object to path
5. Extensions /Modify path --> Flatten Beziers
6. Save as test.dxf

7. Open T2 / Import dxf

and then it Looks like the Attachement.

Ah ok, i think i did a translation fault.
I changed the language of inscape to english.
Now it worked.
Thanke you very much



« Last Edit: April 24, 2016, 10:06:46 AM by Sir-James »
Hi ive got a A3 5500mW laser from Banggood

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4415
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2016, 10:20:41 AM »
I'm not sure why Inkscape didn't work in German, perhaps it is exporting with , instead on . for decimals or something similar.

How does it look now, I am interested to see the result.

- Zax

Sir-James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2016, 10:48:11 AM »
Thanx for your help.
With English language it works fine.
Here is the result.

But why does it create two outlines??

Will u implement the ouline cutting in T2laser sometimes?

Greetings Thorsten
« Last Edit: April 24, 2016, 10:50:13 AM by Sir-James »
Hi ive got a A3 5500mW laser from Banggood

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4415
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2016, 10:53:18 AM »
Will u implement the ouline cutting in T2laser sometimes?

That looks great.

I am thinking about adding this feature, but it will be a basic outline and not as detailed as you can do with Corel, Inkscape etc.

- Zax

Sir-James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2016, 12:03:24 PM »
That would be greate.

Hi ive got a A3 5500mW laser from Banggood

Sir-James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2016, 12:07:29 PM »
Hi
i now can create dxf files, but i think ive still Problems with the size.
It Looks like the dxf file i Import to T2laser is much bigger than the real size in inscape.
How can i for example create a 100mmx100mm cutting dxf file?
Hi ive got a A3 5500mW laser from Banggood

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4415
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2016, 12:23:51 PM »
If you set Inkscape to mm it will keep the same size. Default is pixels.

- Zax

Sir-James

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Outline cutting
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2016, 12:41:43 PM »
Ahh sure. Thanx
Hi ive got a A3 5500mW laser from Banggood