Author Topic: Getting started  (Read 970 times)

ggallant571

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Getting started
« on: July 31, 2016, 09:45:44 AM »
I am very new to lasers. Purchased a 5.5W from GearBest. Unit arrived and was assembled with few problems. Test cuts are not very good, actually very poor. Quite comforting to find users on this site experiencing similar problems and then reporting success.

My initial purpose in purchasing was to cut 3mm ABS. Have since expanded goal to other plastics and wood.

I wrote a Linux (my primary environment) program that parses SVG files and generates gcode for the laser. It is OK for now. Work flow is openscad export to SVG then import to cutting tool.

I then found and downloaded BenCutLaser. Played with it without connecting to the laser. I have read the document at least 5 times and find the problems detected and solutions implemented quite interesting. Also have read the "what can be cut" forum posts and will order similar materials.

Observations/Questions:

1. What is the "ideal" distance from laser to work peice?
2. 3mm cuts thru ABS seem to melt and fill in the slot once past 1mm in depth.
3. W\Plywood is charring and the ash remains in the cut. Again at the 1mm depth.
4. Am considering modifying the grbl code to
    a. Automatically reducing the laser power during deceleration to avoid deep burns at 90 degree corners.
    b. Adjust the feed rate based on the angle to the next point (currently doing in host software).

SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

Zax

• T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Getting started
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2016, 10:01:57 AM »
Welcome, and great work on your solution so far. It sounds impressive, and your ideas / goals would be excellent additions too.

Lob0426

• Global Moderator
  • Let the Magic Blue Smoke out!
    • View Profile
    • Richards RasPi Web Server
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2016, 10:30:40 AM »