Author Topic: Wiring home switches  (Read 44472 times)

Maverick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #90 on: October 06, 2017, 08:24:50 PM »


Yes I know normally it shouldn't but I have a plastic square under the bolt to spread the force as to not cut through the belt. It has a very strong hold and doesnt spin the belt when I tighten the bolt. Belt tension is perfect :)

Any help on the homing direction?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2017, 08:27:08 PM by Maverick »

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1774
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #91 on: October 06, 2017, 08:56:44 PM »
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7302
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #92 on: October 07, 2017, 09:55:46 AM »
@Maverick In T2Laser you enable home switches in the Settings menu on the Laser Control screen, I think you did it manually which should also work.

So it contacts the switch and stops? It doesn't back off or error?

I'm not sure I follow the jog direction vs. home direction question, you should always have negative left and positive right.

Maverick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #93 on: October 07, 2017, 01:03:14 PM »
All sorted thanks heaps for that Nottingham! All I needed to do was changed the pulloff distance to 2mm, (it was 1mm) now it triggers and seeks the switch then does the Y axis perfectly.

Each time you connect, do you need to re-home the machine, or can you permanently set the home position using the hard wired home switches, then all work is relative to this 0, 0 coordinate?

I've manually set the max travel distances,  as with the mods it not exactly A3 anymore, but the values in the brackets dont match what I set when I display the parameters?

nottingham82

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1774
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #94 on: October 07, 2017, 01:42:52 PM »
if you put the machine back at 0,0 before you power down then no you wouldnt need to rehome.  I rehome though.  I rarely leave it a 0,0.  I usually use a center start point so I may home the machine then move it to 50,50 to start my engraving.  Then shut it down.  The next time I power up the machine thinks its at 0,0 but its really at 50,50.  If you rehome it realizes it was at 50,50 and resets 0,0.
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleks maker
OS: Windows 10 all in one pc
Software: T2
http://www.gearbest.com/3d-printers-3d-printer-kits/pp_290386.html Paid $160 in 2016

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7302
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #95 on: October 07, 2017, 02:07:54 PM »
Zax, I'm curious why do you keep recommending running X and Y in parallel, when is probaby just as easy (or easier) to wire up to individual pins?

The default firmware uses D9 so you only need 1 additional connection to the board, I also include a firmware that uses D9 and D10 if you so choose. The Nano has limited output pins so with 3 axis (6 pins), home, limits and emo you use them up.

Lob0426

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1628
  • Let the Magic Blue Smoke out!
    • View Profile
    • Richards RasPi Web Server
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #96 on: October 07, 2017, 03:17:47 PM »
All limits are "hard limits" that create an alarm. If a switch is tripped without the $H homing command it is treated as a limit. You can use the same switch for homing and a hard limit.

https://github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki/Grbl-v1.1-Configuration

Just to repeat; All limits are treated as alarms, this stops movement on all steppers and the spindle, in our case it turns off the laser. Soft limits do this also. Then you have to cancel the alarm after fixing what caused the alarm.
Richard
A5 2.5W w/homing switches on L7
A5 2W diode self upgraded from stock 500mw
Printrbot Play. Ext bed, integrated tablet control.
Printrbot Simple Metal
USA

laser_cutter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #97 on: October 07, 2017, 10:36:27 PM »
The default firmware uses D9 so you only need 1 additional connection to the board, I also include a firmware that uses D9 and D10 if you so choose. The Nano has limited output pins so with 3 axis (6 pins), home, limits and emo you use them up.

Thanks for adding the D9 and D10 option. For the d9, d10 option does it matter if I wire the switches NC or NO?

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7302
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #98 on: October 08, 2017, 04:13:33 AM »
No. You just need to set the Grbl parameters ($5) to match, on my CNC I use NC switches as they are safer (if a wire breaks the machine won't try to home).

laser_cutter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #99 on: October 08, 2017, 01:04:53 PM »
For Homing switches, anyone have advice on gauge of wire and if it should ne solid or strands?

ThothLoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2200
  • Tinkerer
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #100 on: October 08, 2017, 01:07:20 PM »
solid would probably be easiest

You don't need large wire. I suggest something like 24-26 gauge . Just use some wires from a CAT5 cable
Laser: 2x EleksMaker A3s
3D Printer: Monoprice Maker Select v2 / Sovol SV01
Image Resizer Applications (All OS): http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,1434.msg17297.html#msg17297

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #101 on: October 08, 2017, 01:27:28 PM »
Depends on where you mount the switch. If it is on the frame and not subject to cable flexing during operation then either should be ok. If it is mounted on a carriage then I think stranded is the only option.
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

laser_cutter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #102 on: October 18, 2017, 05:43:23 PM »
No. You just need to set the Grbl parameters ($5) to match, on my CNC I use NC switches as they are safer (if a wire breaks the machine won't try to home).

I have a switch on X and a Y, X is on D9 and Y on D10 - both in bottom left hand corner.  I get GRBL 1.1f Ready, though when I upload the 1.1f X/Y home sw. I get "Upload failed"

So strange behavior, when I click the Red House the laser moves to the right - opposite of the Home switch which is to the left. When I click the emergency stop, it stops. I click the open lock and the Red House appears. When I click the red house again, the Y and X move in the right direction toward the Home switches. However, say the Y switch is activated first, that X stops whereever it is.

I have NC set up, with COM to same gnd pin; Do I need to edit the grbl parameters to get the homing on X (D9) and Y (D10)?

Copied from Display Parameters
Connected COM3 115200
Grbl 1.1f ['$' for help]
$$
$$
$0=10 Step pulse, microseconds (10)
$1=25 Step idle delay, milliseconds (25)
$2=0 Step port invert, mask (0)
$3=3 Direction port invert, mask (0)
$4=0 Step enable invert, boolean (0)
$5=1 Limit pins invert, boolean (0)
$6=0 Probe pin invert, boolean (0)
$10=1 Status report, mask (1)
$11=0.010 Junction deviation, mm (0.020)
$12=0.002 Arc tolerance, mm (0.020)
$13=0 Report inches, boolean (0)
$20=0 Soft limits, boolean (0)
$21=0 Hard limits, boolean (0)
$22=1 Homing cycle, boolean (0)
$23=1 Homing dir invert, mask (0)
$24=100.000 Homing feed, mm/min (100.000)
$25=1000.000 Homing seek, mm/min (1000.000)
$26=250 Homing debounce, milliseconds (250)
$27=1.000 Homing pull-off, mm (1.000)
$30=255 Max spindle speed, RPM (255)
$31=0 Min spindle speed, RPM (0)
$32=1 Laser mode, boolean (1)
$100=80.000 X steps/mm (80.000)
$101=80.000 Y steps/mm (80.000)
$102=80.000 Z steps/mm (80.000)
$110=3000.000 X Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$111=3000.000 Y Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$112=3000.000 Z Max rate, mm/min (5000.000)
$120=200.000 X Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (800.000)
$121=200.000 Y Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (800.000)
$122=200.000 Z Acceleration, mm/sec^2 (5000.000)
$130=400.000 X Max travel, mm (400)
$131=300.000 Y Max travel, mm (300)
$132=200.000 Z Max travel, mm (200)

With the above X will home, but Y will not home.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2017, 06:27:01 PM by laser_cutter »

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7302
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #103 on: October 18, 2017, 07:12:41 PM »
You need to set the $5 and $23 parameters. I think with NC switches you’ll need $5=3, then set the homing directions using $23.

laser_cutter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Wiring home switches
« Reply #104 on: October 18, 2017, 07:25:17 PM »
You need to set the $5 and $23 parameters. I think with NC switches you’ll need $5=3, then set the homing directions using $23.

Thanks, $5=1 for NC is what I got from the 1.1 github page.

Any ideas on why the Y axis will not home?