Author Topic: New to "CNCs with Frick'n lasers on the head"  (Read 3860 times)

Finiousfingers

• View Profile
New to "CNCs with Frick'n lasers on the head"
« on: April 18, 2017, 10:56:10 AM »
Ok im actually new to CNCs and to add a laser is just one more level of ooooooo.

I bought the SUNWIN 40x50 500mw laser cnc. I had to hunt to find instruction videos, but all in all it went together well enough.
The board didnt work or at least didnt come with pinouts so I dont know what to tell the controller.
So I remembered I had an Eleckmaker board for a DVD cnc I was trying to make. Popped that in and boom in business.
Downloaded the T2laser and liked it enough that I bought that license.
Initially my burns were taking wayyyy to long imo. like a 1.5" coin was taking 90 minutes to burn a simple image...
But now I have it sped up some and can do a 3" in an hour.

I have some questions and comments that I would like to get some input on.
1. Does a hotter laser burn faster/better?
    So if I get a 5mw laser can I expect something that takes an hour now to take 15 minutes or less?
2. is there a ratio of speed/power on burns that works or is it all trial and error.
3. how can I calibrate my steps per mm? If I do a 1.5" coin I have to use 50mm instead of 40.
4. How can I do a coaster that has a logo in the middle and words circling the outside?
    I tried doing sketch and got that to work right, then I have to do the image... is there a way to do it all in one burn?
5. is there a way to add multiple images to the page? So if I wanted to burn something 3x3 images.

Few things I have learned
1. Apple wood is to hard to burn on with 500mw.
2. grain sometimes burns way darker then you want
3. read more of the manual before you get grumpy.
4. using the colored glasses makes it hard to see your burn.
   4a. not using your colored glasses makes it hard to see
     4b. got a little flash burn I think... gotta start using my glasses before they call my the old blind guy at the corner.