Author Topic: Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?  (Read 1264 times)

kibodwin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
    • View Profile
Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?
« on: May 14, 2021, 06:31:25 PM »
Hi guys,
An idea poped into my head..and it sounds like a good idea but maybe I am missing something and you can set me straight...
So in order to get constant z axis bit hight I thought to use a metal block of a specific hight. The top  of this block would be the z axis zero. This would allow constant zeroing of the bit on tool changes.
As long as the top of this block is higher than the top of the material (and you don't rise the z axis higher than physically possible in your gcode then I can't see why this wouldn't work.
The X/Y axis have endstops so no need for a touch probe.
All of this came about from me wanting to run roughing passes and therefore needing tool bit changes. I needed to find a way to keep the z axis bit zero constant and this idea felt like is solved this issue.
I have a mate with a cheap 3018 CNC and this could work for him also...?
Maybe it is not a new idea but it is to me!!!
:-)
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleksmaker L5, K40 with Cohesion3D mini board, air assist, laser pointer etc..
OS: Windows 7, Debian, OpenSuse, Kali
Software: T2Laser, laserweb4, Repitier, Cura
Prusa i3 Clone GT2560
Anycubic Kossel Delta ramps

kibodwin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
    • View Profile
Re: Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2021, 06:45:27 PM »
I would like to add, this just a block, no probe involved. I don't think my cheap and basic controller card can use a standard touch probe so this idea of a block (adjustable in hight??) To just set the bit hight is easier to work with and avoids messing around with changes to the z zeroing in the cam cad software.
So the idea would be to zero the X/Y with the endstops, install the bit in the spindle with said block holding up the bit at a specific height, then tightening the bit in the spindle, remove the block and you have zeroed all the axis. For tool change, go to home, remove the bit, install the next bit, held up by the block and tighten the bit, remove the block and off you go!
Seems like it should work....
:-)
« Last Edit: May 14, 2021, 06:52:15 PM by kibodwin »
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleksmaker L5, K40 with Cohesion3D mini board, air assist, laser pointer etc..
OS: Windows 7, Debian, OpenSuse, Kali
Software: T2Laser, laserweb4, Repitier, Cura
Prusa i3 Clone GT2560
Anycubic Kossel Delta ramps

Zax

  • T2Laser
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7302
    • View Profile
    • T2Laser
Re: Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2021, 05:38:31 AM »
Yes that's what I do, just move Z to the height of the block and change bits.

kibodwin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
    • View Profile
Re: Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2021, 11:01:50 PM »
there I was thinking I had come up with a new inovative idea!!!
here what I plan to do is have a 'Z axis block' and use this to set the end of the bit hight. Place the bit lousely in the spindle, hold the bit up with the 'block' and tighten the bit in the spindle.
=)
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleksmaker L5, K40 with Cohesion3D mini board, air assist, laser pointer etc..
OS: Windows 7, Debian, OpenSuse, Kali
Software: T2Laser, laserweb4, Repitier, Cura
Prusa i3 Clone GT2560
Anycubic Kossel Delta ramps

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
    • View Profile
Re: Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2021, 09:44:47 AM »
The problem is "you were thinking" again. I purchased a fixed focus diode laser by mistake end use a 3d printed spacer and a simple screw clamp mechanism to set the height. Find it easier than using the adjustable lens.
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

kibodwin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
    • View Profile
Re: Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2021, 12:07:23 AM »
Yeah, I have to stop that, it hurts the brain!!!
The problem is "you were thinking" again.

I was thinking about 3D printing something but thought a metal 'box' might be more constant and wear less.

=)
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleksmaker L5, K40 with Cohesion3D mini board, air assist, laser pointer etc..
OS: Windows 7, Debian, OpenSuse, Kali
Software: T2Laser, laserweb4, Repitier, Cura
Prusa i3 Clone GT2560
Anycubic Kossel Delta ramps

ggallant571

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
    • View Profile
Re: Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2021, 12:11:51 PM »
Confucius say "Chinese metal box weaker than 3D printed one."
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

kibodwin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 739
    • View Profile
Re: Idea to set constant z axis bit hight?
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2021, 07:46:39 AM »
What a wise man!!
LOL
=)
Laser: 2500mw A5 eleksmaker L5, K40 with Cohesion3D mini board, air assist, laser pointer etc..
OS: Windows 7, Debian, OpenSuse, Kali
Software: T2Laser, laserweb4, Repitier, Cura
Prusa i3 Clone GT2560
Anycubic Kossel Delta ramps