Author Topic: Upgrading Chinese 2.5W to 15W  (Read 3252 times)

bfuller123

• View Profile
Upgrading Chinese 2.5W to 15W
« on: April 21, 2018, 04:00:45 PM »
I'm a newbie to lasers and need some help.

I purchased a 15W blue laser to upgrade from a 2.5W which was working great, but I wanted to try something a little stronger.

I included photos of the control boards.  The first is the laser board and the second is the controller that came with the 2.5W setup.
I've figured out that I need to run each on separate power supplies and have the appropriate power connected.

BUT....

The laser comes on immediately (full power).  I can manually switch it to low power by pressing the switch on the board.

That's as far as I've gotten.

I'm not sure how to connect the laser to the control board.   There is a connector (2 conductors), but I'm not sure if it is the right setup or not.  It is connected to the TTL on the laser and to the connector next to "LASER" on the controller.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

ianchia

• I like making things with my heart, hands & brain.
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Chinese 2.5W to 15W
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2018, 11:43:01 PM »
This thread should hopefully contain all the information you need.

"Topic: Need help connecting Laser module to mana se" http://benboxlaser.us/index.php/topic,2436.0.html

- Ian

ggallant571

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2018, 05:21:24 AM »
It appears from the pictures that you will need two 2-pin connectors at the controller and one 3-pin at the driver end. The pins marked '+' are for a solid steady state 12V 5AMP (or better) power. GND also will conduct the 12A. The PWM is 5V TTL. You could use 2 headers at the driver if you want to connect the PWM signals on separate cables..  Connecting 12V to the PWM input on the driver may be a killer.
SARCASM - Just one more service we offer here.

bfuller123

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2018, 11:10:14 AM »